66th Regiment Co H

66th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry 

66th Infantry Regiment was organized at Kinston, North Carolina, in 
October, 1862, by consolidating the 8th North Carolina Battalion Partisan 
Rangers and the 13th North Carolina Infantry Battalion. Its men were from 
the counties of Orange, Nash, Franklin, Wayne, Lenoir, Carteret, Jones, 
Duplin, and New Hanover. The unit was stationed at Wilmington, then in 
May, 1864, moved to Virginia. Attached to General J.G. Martin's and 
Kirkland's Brigade, it fought at Cold Harbor, was placed in the trenches of 
Petersburg, and saw action at Bentonville. On April 26, 1865, it 
surrendered with the Army of Tennessee. The field officers were Colonels 
Alexander D. Moore and John H. Nethercutt, Lieutenant Colonel Clement 
G. Wright, and Major David S. Davis.

8th Battalion Partisan Rangers was formed during the spring of 1863 
using Nethercutt's Company of Partisan Rangers as its nucleus. The unit 
contained four companies and served in the New Bern-Kinston area of 
North Carolina until October when it merged into the 66th North Carolina 
Regiment. Its commander was Major John H. Nethercutt. 


James G. Davis, Captain
Willis W. Cherry, !st Lt.
Robert W. Swinson, 2nd Lt.
Edward Williamson, 2nd Lt.

Non-Commisioned Officers 

Charles C. Croom, 1st Sgt.
John P. Miller, 2nd Sgt.
Robert S. Sugg, 3rd Sgt.
Islam Sholar, 4th Sgt.
Joseph H. Nunn, 5th Sgt.
Franklin Harper, 1st Corporal
John Holland, 2nd Corp.
James W. Dawson, 3rd Corp.
R.W. Jones, 4th Corp.

(Not All in Alphabetical order) 

Amon, J.S.
Bowen, J.W.
Brittain, O.W.
Burwell, Ham.
Brown, Owen
Brown, J.W.
Bryant, P.I.
Brinson, E.D.
Brock, L.J.
Bell, G.W.
Barber, D.F.
Bostic, John M.
Capps, Cason
Daniel, James C.
Davenport, John
Edwards, J.J.
Emory, L.H.
Freeman, Charles
Gurganus, John
Ham, Burwell
Ham, Joel
Hines, S.M.
Henderson, J.M.
Henderson, S.W.
Hall, Lewis
Hunter, J.G.
Humprey, L.
Hunter, J.E.
Holland, Charles
Harrison, J.O.
Jones, M.M.
Kenan, Thigpen
Kilpartrick, Thomas
Kornegay, A.G.
Kennedy, W.H.
Lanier, I.L.
Lee, H.I.
Murphy, John
Pierce, G.W.
Padgett, Daniel
Roe, Gaston
Royall, J.B.
Royall, John
Rhodes, J.B.
Rouse, J.W.
Rayner, J.C.
Sandlin, J.A.
Spence, Ferdinand
Spence, David
Sumerlin, Lemuel
Sanderson, Levi
Sanderson, Lewis
Sanderson, John
Swinson, Aurke
Shehan, J.M.
Simmons, A.E.
Smith, Bryant
Sugg, E.D.
Swinson, Jesse
Thigpen, J.J.
Thomas, C.G.
Tetterton, N.W.
Taylor, Elza
Taylor, W.J.
Thomas, H.G.
Whaley, Frederick
Whaley, Rigden
Whaley, Sebastian
Whaley, W.B.
Williams, Benjamin
Williams, Jesse
Whitman, William
Wilkin, H.N.

Back to North Carolina Civil War Troops Rosters

Back to NC in the Civil War Home Page

© 2005-2011  Diane Siniard