66th Regiment Co A

66th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry 

66th Infantry Regiment was organized at Kinston, North Carolina, in 
October, 1862, by consolidating the 8th North Carolina Battalion Partisan 
Rangers and the 13th North Carolina Infantry Battalion. Its men were from 
the counties of Orange, Nash, Franklin, Wayne, Lenoir, Carteret, Jones, 
Duplin, and New Hanover. The unit was stationed at Wilmington, then in 
May, 1864, moved to Virginia. Attached to General J.G. Martin's and 
Kirkland's Brigade, it fought at Cold Harbor, was placed in the trenches of 
Petersburg, and saw action at Bentonville. On April 26, 1865, it 
surrendered with the Army of Tennessee. The field officers were Colonels 
Alexander D. Moore and John H. Nethercutt, Lieutenant Colonel Clement 
G. Wright, and Major David S. Davis.

8th Battalion Partisan Rangers was formed during the spring of 1863 
using Nethercutt's Company of Partisan Rangers as its nucleus. The unit 
contained four companies and served in the New Bern-Kinston area of 
North Carolina until October when it merged into the 66th North Carolina 
Regiment. Its commander was Major John H. Nethercutt. 


Joseph W. Latta, Captain
Albert C. Faucett, Caotain
James G. Latta, 1st Lt.
John C. Lynch, 1st Lt.
George B. Pearce, 2nd Lt.

Non-Commissioned Officers 

John Couch, 1st Sgt.
George B. Pearce, 2nd Sgt.
Wm. R. Scarlett, 3rd Sgt.
John Hall, 4th Sgt.
Issac D. Whitaker, 5th Sgt.
William G. Couch, 1st Corporal
James D. Horner, 2nd Corporal
John H. Rhew, 3rd Corporal
James H. Browning, 4th Corporal

(Not All in Alphabetical order)

Barnes, Wm. J.
Blackwood, Wm. J.
Browning, Moses
Browning, Sidney
Browning, William
Browning, John W.
Bowen, William
Barbee, James
Brockwell, George
Brockwell, James
Booths, Nash
Barrow, William
Borland, Andrew J.
Baldwin, Nelson
Couch, George
Couch, Nathan
Couch, Thomas J.
Couch, David W.
Couch, William
Cole, William D.
Correll, Benjamin
Christian, James N.
Crabtree, Wm. R.
Crabtree, Robert
Chisenhall, Sidney
Chisenhall, L.C.
Cates, Willie
Cates, William
Cates, Wm. J.
Cates, Robert
Cates, John M.
Cates, James
Cates, Thomas
Cardin, William H.
Cardin, H.H.
Chrismand, C.
Carrington, Richard
Carrington, James T.
Carrington, W.P.
Carrington, John D.
Dannagan, John D.
Dixon, James T.
Faucett, Thomas
Glenn, Bryant
Glenn, Hillman
Glenn, William T.
Guess, William C.
Garrett, Skidmore
Garrard, James
Gresham, George
Gates, Willie P.
Horner, Moses W.
Horner, Little D.
Holloway, John A.
Hicks, James E.
Herndon, Charles M.
Hill, Gaston
Hall, Andrew
Howell, Dupree
Hampton, Gaston
Johnson, Durell
James, Jesse W.
James, Thomas
James, John T.
Jeffreys, Benton
King, Wm. A.
Kirkland, John
Latta, Phillips W.
Latta, Wm.
Lyon, Cadmus H.
Mangum, Fielding
Mayes, Wm. S.
Monk, James
McFarland, Simeon
Mahon, Wm. F.
Mitchell, Abel R.
Pool, Rufus
Pool, Ranson
Pool, John
Phipps, S.P.
Phipps, Simeon
Phipps, Green
Proctor, Herbert
Proctor, John
Rhew, Silas
Rhew, William
Riley, William L.
Riley, Thomas J.
Rhodes, Andrew J.
Rhodes, George A.
Scarlett, James C.
Stanly, John W.
Smith, John W.
Simpson, William
Simpson, Charles
Simpson, William Jr.
Strayhorn, Samuel M.
Thompson, F.M.
Teasley, Willie
Tate, Albert
Urnsted, Henry
Vicker, Moses
Walker, Henry H.
Walker, John A.
Woods, William M.
Woods, John M.
Woods, James M. Jr.
Woods, John
Woods, James M.
Wolford, Wm. W.
Whitaker, James A.
Whitaker, A.J.
Watson, James W.
Warren, Chesley P.

Back to North Carolina Civil War Troops Rosters

Back to NC in the Civil War Home Page

© 2005-2011  Diane Siniard