66th Regiment Co D

66th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry 

66th Infantry Regiment was organized at Kinston, North Carolina, in 
October, 1862, by consolidating the 8th North Carolina Battalion Partisan 
Rangers and the 13th North Carolina Infantry Battalion. Its men were from 
the counties of Orange, Nash, Franklin, Wayne, Lenoir, Carteret, Jones, 
Duplin, and New Hanover. The unit was stationed at Wilmington, then in 
May, 1864, moved to Virginia. Attached to General J.G. Martin's and 
Kirkland's Brigade, it fought at Cold Harbor, was placed in the trenches of 
Petersburg, and saw action at Bentonville. On April 26, 1865, it 
surrendered with the Army of Tennessee. The field officers were Colonels 
Alexander D. Moore and John H. Nethercutt, Lieutenant Colonel Clement 
G. Wright, and Major David S. Davis.

8th Battalion Partisan Rangers was formed during the spring of 1863 
using Nethercutt's Company of Partisan Rangers as its nucleus. The unit 
contained four companies and served in the New Bern-Kinston area of 
North Carolina until October when it merged into the 66th North Carolina 
Regiment. Its commander was Major John H. Nethercutt. 

W. T Robinson, Capt. 
S. H Kearney, 1st. Lt.
William A. W. Askew, 2lt.
Lewis Bynum, 2nd Lt. 

Non-Commis'd Officers: 

D. W Hood 1st Sgt.
Richard Isler 2nd Sgt.
J. L Hardy 3rd Sgt.
Lemuel Fields 4th Sgt.
E. J Barrow 5th Sgt.
W. L Wiggins 1st Corp.
Thomas Sutton 2nd Corp.
Joseph Bragg 3rd Corp.
Simpson Harper 4th Corp.

(Not all in alphabetical order) 
Arthur, Elijah
Alagood, Lewis
Askew, Benjamin
Askew, Amos
Avery, Thomas
Arnold, Edward
Arnold, Stephen
Arnold, John
Arnold, James
Bynum, John
Brock, J. J.
Bragg, J. M.
Bryant, T. I.
Bryant, F. I.
Cameron, Thomas
Carter, J. B.
Callton, J. B.
Doyerty, W. H.
Doyerty, Cullen
Dudley, Thomas
Dudley, Isaac
Dudley, Stephen
Dixon, Simson
Dixon, Joel
Demon, C. W.
Evans, John B.
Grady, William
Godwin, James
Godwin Edward
Grady, Frederick
Harper, K.
Howland, L.
Haswell, W. A.
Haswell, A. J.
Hadock. W. O.
Hadock, J. A.
Ipock, George
Ipock, Samuel
Jones, A. H.
Jones, David
Jones, Stephen
Jones, Frederick
Jackson, D. T.
Kinsey, Absolom
Littleton, A.
Marvins, David
May, W. C.
May, J. J.
McKoy, Frederick
McGhee. W. H.
Moore, James
Moore, W. F.
Moore, Wright
Newbolt, E. I.
Outlaw, T. E.
Pringle, C.
Parker, J. C.
Parker, George
Prescott, W.
Richardson, G. A.
Simpson, William
Sumerlin, J. J.
Turner, Cicero Fidello
Turner, John
Turner, Simeon
Thigpen, James
Taylor, Cicero
Taylor. D. H.
Thomas, Jeremiah
Wood, L. W.
Weeks, Wm.
Weeks, John
Walters, Elisha
Worthington, Abner
White, Frederick
White, Benjamin
Yates, James
Yates, John 

Back to North Carolina Civil War Troops Rosters

Back to NC in the Civil War Home Page

© 2005-2011  Diane Siniard