66th Regiment Co G

66th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry 

66th Infantry Regiment was organized at Kinston, North Carolina, in 
October, 1862, by consolidating the 8th North Carolina Battalion Partisan 
Rangers and the 13th North Carolina Infantry Battalion. Its men were from 
the counties of Orange, Nash, Franklin, Wayne, Lenoir, Carteret, Jones, 
Duplin, and New Hanover. The unit was stationed at Wilmington, then in 
May, 1864, moved to Virginia. Attached to General J.G. Martin's and 
Kirkland's Brigade, it fought at Cold Harbor, was placed in the trenches of 
Petersburg, and saw action at Bentonville. On April 26, 1865, it 
surrendered with the Army of Tennessee. The field officers were Colonels 
Alexander D. Moore and John H. Nethercutt, Lieutenant Colonel Clement 
G. Wright, and Major David S. Davis.

8th Battalion Partisan Rangers was formed during the spring of 1863 
using Nethercutt's Company of Partisan Rangers as its nucleus. The unit 
contained four companies and served in the New Bern-Kinston area of 
North Carolina until October when it merged into the 66th North Carolina 
Regiment. Its commander was Major John H. Nethercutt. 


E.G. Blackmer, Capt.
W.G. Williams, 1st Lt.
W.C. Brandon, 1st Lt.
J.W. Walker, 2nd Lt.

Non-Commision Offisers 

J.M. Burton, 1st Sgt.
B.R. Bagget, 2nd Sgt.
F.A. Layton, 3rd Sgt.
W.T. Griffin, 4th Sgt.
William Brown, 5th Sgt.
J.F. Payne, 1st Corporal
J.T. Foster, 2nd Corporal
N.J. Griffin, 3rd Corporal
J.L. Miller, 4th Corporal
J.C. Austin, Musician
S.C. Griffin, Musician
D.M. Hicks, Musician

(Not All in Alphabetical order) 

Allgood , A.
Brown, A.
Barringer, J.J.
Baxter, J.W.
Badget, W.S.
Cyrus, H.H.
Carter, William
Carter, A.
Chirod, H.F.
Cobble, G.A.
Cain, P.H.
Cook, R.H.
Cross, James
Crews, H.H.
Dennis, J.H.
Dennis, C.S.
Eudy, J.M.
Fults, J.M.
Fraley, J.H.
Foster, J.N.
Griffin, N.J.
Gheen, D.B.
Gibble, J.
Gibble, H.C.
Gibble, D.
Gibble, W.
Gibble, G.W.
Ghun, G.H.
Graves, D.
Garner, J.W.
Gibson, W.C.
Hunt, H.
Hunt, E.W.
Harrison, H.
Harris, James
Hedgecock, A.
Jenkins, W.
Johnson, I.H.
Johnson, G.P.
Kimmer, H.H.
Lanier, W.D.
Lofton, W.
Loftin, J.M.
Livingood, W.
Leslie, F.M.
Miller, C.A.
Myers, W.A.
Martin, J.C.
Martin, J.P.
Myers, M.C.
Owens, A.A.
Overcash, J.M.
Overcash, W.A.
Overcash, W.
Plumer, R.A.
Potts, M.
Peninger, J.M.
Pealer, J.D.
Recks, W.L.
Roseman, T.A.
Ross, B.A.
Reavy, W.A.
Suping, W.A.
Solomon, S.W.
Sain, C.N.
Sain, Nathan
Shaw, E.
Speight, S.
Spurgeon, J.S.
Shuping, H.J.
Swain, V.D.
Thomas, G.W.
Thomason, W.T.
Thrift, W.H.
Vanhoy, F.E.
Vanhoy, William
Wallace, W.M.
Ward, C.C.
Weaver, R.
Windsor, T.
Windsor, W.H.

Back to North Carolina Civil War Troops Rosters

Back to NC in the Civil War Home Page

© 2005-2011  Diane Siniard